The Department of Community Investment is organized into four teams that work collaboratively with each other to assist the citizens and businesses of South Bend with a variety of tasks. The four teams are:

Business Development

The Business Development Team is here to connect you to resources and programs when you are ready to locate or expand your business in South Bend.  Our team  is responsible for the analysis, budgeting, and usage of certain Department of Community Investment funding sources, including the Industrial Revolving Loan Fund, Industrial Revenue Bonds, Tax Abatements, and Tax Incremental Financing.  Additionally, the team is responsible for the management of Redevelopment Commission owned property. The team focuses city-wide while providing specialized opportunities in the downtown and various other development areas. Small or large, start-up or established, make the City of South Bend Business Development Team your first call.

Engagement and Economic Empowerment

The Engagement and Economic Empowerment team is here to empower all residents with access to economic opportunities and meaningful civic participation.  Our team will strive to improve the quality of life for residents in neighborhoods and help facilitate community partnerships.   

Planning and Community Resources

The Planning and Community Resources Team engages the public and convenes groups with diverse opinions to develop and implement strategies for neighborhoods, commercial areas, and underutilized land in the city. The team creates short and long term plans and policies that promote distinct character and a sense of place for the community. The team also conducts research and analysis of local, regional and national planning issues and advises other City departments and partner agencies on land use and zoning topics.

Neighborhood Development

The Neighborhood Development Team provides revitalization services that assist to promote and stabilize the City’s neighborhoods.  Through the investment of federal grants, management of housing programs and partnerships with neighborhood and community organizations, assistance is available to low and moderate income individuals, as well as residents new to the community.


Department of Community Investment

227 West Jefferson Blvd. • Suite 1400 S

South Bend, Indiana 46601