***JANUARY 1, 2018 CHANGE***

Starting January 1, 2018 the Building Department will no longer be responsible for Zoning Administration and management of the Area Board of Zoning Appeals for the City of South Bend and St. Joseph County. This will become the responsibility of the Area Plan Commission. As well, Commercial and Sign permits will require an additional ILP review by the Area Plan Commission.


The City of South Bend/St. Joseph County Building Department serves all properties within the City of South Bend, and all properties with a 5 digit address within the County.

In some cases within St. Joseph County town approval is required before we can issue permits. The details of these instances are outlined below.

Towns that Require Approval

The following cities are within St. Joseph County and require Town Board approval if the property address is within the City limits (3 or 4 digit addresses) before the permit can be issued by our department.

Lakeville 574-784-8311

Roseland 574-272-6485

Indian Village 574-277-9919

North Liberty 574-656-4447

Osceola 574-674-8114

Towns/Cities That Manage Total Development Process

Mishawaka 574-258-1607

New Carlisle 574-654-3733

Walkerton 574-586-3711


For more information contact the building department at 574-235-9554 or email.